Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-24-2010, 07:35 PM   #1 
SterlingX123

Bettas with other bettas?

Hey!
Ok, so this might be a totally dumb question (i'm still pretty new to the whole Betta thing...) but can bettas be in the same tank as another betta? From what i've heard, Bettas are also called Siamese Fighting Fish, and I think i've also heard just males can't be around each other.... Not sure if I have my facts right, but and response to this would be welcome. Also, do female bettas get along with other female bettas? Or do they act out as agressively as males?
thanks!
SterlingX123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:39 PM   #2 
xgoingdownx

Females can be in tanks together, but it's advised that they stay in large groups so that their aggression isn't taken out on one fish. There is a sticky on keeping female sorority tanks, and it says that having at least 6 is best. You obviously need a large tank for this, too.

Males cannot be in the same tank- unless it is divided. Males will fight each other, and sometimes kill each other. They're very territorial. There are a few other critters and fish that can be housed with bettas, but don't be surprised if they nip at whatever you decide to put in there at first or every so often. [I only have one betta without anything else with him, so I don't know from experience, but from other posts]

Hope this helps!
xgoingdownx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:45 PM   #3 
Jessafall