Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-08-2010, 01:22 PM   #1 
MmmToast

A new fish owner here..

Hi, I'm new here, and new to caring for fish.

We've had goldfish all my life, but those live through practically anything. I'm a full time college student and feel lonely without having a pet around. Don't worry, I have enough time to do regular tank cleaning and such. I decided to get myself a fish, since that's all we are allowed to have in the dorms.

I decided on a male Betta. I did a little research and got a heater for him. Unfortunately for now I only have him in a two gallon tank, but this summer I'm hoping to upgrade to a five. Yesterday he seemed to be doing a lot of exploring, popping in and out of his little rock cave.

Today he is still swimming around some but will randomly just chill out at the bottom, not doing much of anything. I'm starting to get worried, because he won't eat. Maybe he is just picky and doesn't like the Betta bites. I'm not rich being in college, so I figured I would give those a try first. Should I try something else or do you think he is still adjusting, or could he be sick already? I did just get him yesterday, after all.

Any help/suggestions would be appreciated. =)
MmmToast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 01:32 PM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned

Hello and wellcome to the forum. He may still be adjusting to his new home and that's why he's not eating. Also, bettas can be picky and you may have to try another brand of pellets. If you see him laying on the bottom of his bowl for long periods of tiime then it may be a sign of illness but if he is just occaisionally lays on the botom then that's ok. They do like to rest every now and then. :)
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 01:48 PM   #3 
1fish2fish