Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-29-2014, 01:28 AM   #1 
Cerulean

Question Poor little sick dude!

So I have been fighting to treat my little guy of bad fin rot for almost 3 months now. He lost his whole entire dorsal fin and started into body rot on the scales, and a bunch of his caudal fin fin. I have done 2 treatments of maracyn 2 and several salt treatments and a triple sulphur treatment also some very clean water during all of it and a little betta fix at times too. Every time I think I am winning and he might be starting to heal, a couple days to a week go by and then I see more signs of rot again. Although the caudal would seems white and not raw and pink anymore the scales around it are a funny metallic shade and now his tail and anal fin are starting to shred and drop pieces. He doesn't flare except once In a blue moon, he is eating, and I have increased quality of food for healing, he stills comes to see me and interact but I feel bad. His color all over changes often, almost like a marble but I don't think be is, I wonder if it is stress, it is like he gets circles of dark color and parts that are metallic and then others are one color and the next you look at them they are different.?

Someone told me if he is still fighting that I should too but I feel so bad for him, it must hurt and he can't swim right because of the fin loss. I don't know what else to do and wonder if uthinizing wouldn't be kinder for him. I have ordered IAL but they will be weeks before they are here. No matter what I do he just keeps rotting get away slowly, I have heard that when it gets to body rot it is often impossible to fix. He also has been sitting in this weird almost s like position all the time since this started and I don't know if it is comfort or what?

Advice please, I will put info again down below.

2.5 get tank