Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2010, 11:57 PM   #1 
Jessiefish
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Stupid question RE: sand.

I'm contemplating changing the substrate in my 6 gallon Eclipse to sand. The tank houses a Betta, an ADF, ghost shrimp and live plants. Is the sand a safe substrate for all my critters, or should I stick with gravel?
Jessiefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 07:36 AM   #2 
glassmouse
New Member
 
glassmouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Delaware
I have a newly cycled tank with substrate that consists of sand and mixed size gravel. Last night I was doing my first vacuuming of the substrate and the sand kept getting sucked up by the vacuum and clogging the tube. It was a pain to keep stopping to unclog the tube. Right now I'm a little sorry I used substrate that contains sand. I'd love to hear any tips to make this easier.
glassmouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 04:17 PM   #3 
2brown347
New Member
 
2brown347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
Sand will be fine with all you fish/ critters. Just make sure to do your research on whatever sand you decide to use. Some need extensive rinsing before, some don't; plants die in some and thrive in others, etc.

Also make sure you know whats involved with sand (stirring to avoid bubbles or getting something to mix it up)
2brown347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 01:33 AM   #4 
Hadouken441
Member
 
Hadouken441's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fool filter sand. Easiest to clean, too heavy to cloud water but soft enough for even cory cat whiskers.
Hadouken441 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 03:17 PM   #5 
SaylorKennedy
Member
 
SaylorKennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by glassmouse View Post
I have a newly cycled tank with substrate that consists of sand and mixed size gravel. Last night I was doing my first vacuuming of the substrate and the sand kept getting sucked up by the vacuum and clogging the tube. It was a pain to keep stopping to unclog the tube. Right now I'm a little sorry I used substrate that contains sand. I'd love to hear any tips to make this easier.
Keep the vacuum 1/2" above the sand. It will still pick up all the gunk, but not the sand. :)
SaylorKennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Question bloo97 Betta Chat 10 03-20-2010 08:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.