Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2010, 01:51 PM   #1 
82028
New Member
 
82028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Question If you have time please help :)

So today I changed my tank from gravel to sand. Its a 10 gal and i had 1 male betta and two cory cats in there. While i did the switch i put my betta and the cories in a breeding trap and they are floating in my moms 29 gal.

I guess my first question is:
are they ok to float in there untill my tank clears up and gets going again? There is a female betta in the 29 gal so my male and her have been staring at each other the whole time and my male keeps flaring at her. Is this ok for him to do this for however long i have to have them in there?

my next question:
the tank is really cloudy with sand right now. How long untill i can turn on the filter without it clogging up and breaking? and how long after that untill i can put my fish back in there?

sorry for the long post, and thanks for your help! :)
82028 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 02:07 PM   #2 
Chicklet
Member
 
Chicklet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Quote:
staring at each other the whole time and my male keeps flaring at her.
Just make sure the floater has a cap on it, otherwise he's likely to leap out.


Quote:
the tank is really cloudy with sand right now. How long untill i can turn on the filter without it clogging up and breaking? and how long after that untill i can put my fish back in there?
I'm impatient I guess, Cause I just got thru changing 7 tanks, swapping fish, snails, cleaning and moving sand and gravel from one tank to another, I never wait when it concerns the fish,

Sometimes I do hold off on starting the filter back up to prevent clogging tho.
Chicklet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 02:20 PM   #3 
kelly528
Member
 
kelly528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Try doing some water changes... sand does contain floating grains so theres no quarantee everything would settle with time.
kelly528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:30 PM   #4 
82028
New Member
 
82028's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chicklet View Post

I never wait when it concerns the fish,
tho.


It is like really cloudy tho, i wouldnt even be able to see the fish if i put them in there. you still think they would be ok? When do you think i could turn on the filer?
82028 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:45 PM   #5 
Chicklet
Member
 
Chicklet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Quote:
It is like really cloudy tho, i wouldnt even be able to see the fish if i put them in there. you still think they would be ok? When do you think i could turn on the filer?
If it's new sand I hope you rinsed it really well before adding it to the tank.
New sand does take alot longer to settle, and you need to rinse away alot of those small particles.

If the fish are safely secured in the floater and it is new sand, It wouldn't hurt to wait a few hours.

Better safe then sorry.
Chicklet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:05 PM   #6 
SaylorKennedy
Member
 
SaylorKennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
I'd wait a couple hours as long as your others are fine in the other tank. My tank took about 1-1.5 days to clear up from putting new sand in it. I waited like 2ish hours until I turned the filter back on.
SaylorKennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.