Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-31-2010, 12:08 PM   #1 
RUFiiO

I'm a noob..

I just got my first betta the other day, and I really feel like a noob when it comes to this little guy. The first day I was really worried because he wasn't eating, and I thought his water felt a bit cold. But I don't know much about keeping fish so I thought he might be okay since nothing at the store said he needed heat.

Then I got to this website to make sure I wasn't doing anything wrong, and I've seen in a lot of places that betta fish need heat. My room stays about 72-75 just about all day long, but the water I'm sure is probably a bit colder than that. The problem is that he is in a bowl, instead of a tank since I cant exactly afford anything too awful fancy right now. So I'm wondering if anyone here knows how I can heat this bowl:

I just feel pretty bad right now after coming to this site and seeing so many amazing fish tanks and stuff. He seems to be doing okay right now, but I dont want him to be uncomfortable or anything.
RUFiiO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 12:29 PM   #2 
brancasterr

I had the same issue. I have a similar bowl to yours and found this great heater at Wal-Mart.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Tetra-Subm...-Pets/12177656

It keeps my tank at a steady 78-79 degrees 24 hours a day and my betta loves it and is a lot more active because of it.

The box says 2-5 gallons or something but it works great in a 1 gallon as well. It's only like 10-15 dollars depending on which walmart you go to.

Good luck! Also, if you're going to install the heater take him out, let the water heat up, and then float his bag in the water to let him get used to it, then let him out. So you don't shock him. :)
brancasterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 12:31 PM   #3 
Oldfishlady