Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-04-2010, 09:02 AM   #1 
nacho

Shopping list - Thoughts/Opinions/Suggestions appreciated

Hey betta lovers,

I'm new to having an aquarium. Actually, I've had a betta before when I was five years old, but back then, my parents and I had no idea how to take care of him.

Now that I am in college, I want to provide the best possible house for Mr. Darcy (my as-of-yet-nonexistent fish).

So I've done research since last fall, which makes it...around 7 months of research. I came up with a list of things to buy once I come around to it this summer after this semester is over. I thought I would run my list by you so that I know what I'm missing, or if there are cheaper alternatives out there. I want to cap my spending at $150 - I cannot afford anything more than that.

The List:
- aquarium -10 gallons- - $10
- hood - $40
- gravel - $15
- sponge filter - heater - 50W - $25
- dechlorinator - AmQuel - $7
- ammonia/nitrite/nitrate testing kit

- food (hikari bio-gold pellets) - $3 + bloodworms
- fish net - $0.50

Tools:
- thermometer - $6
- siphon - $5
- 2 buckets - $5-$10
- AquaChef auto feeder - $20

Accessories:
- pretty (live) plants - $20
java fern
- decor - $10

Last, but not least:
- betta - $6

Good list? Yes/No?

- nacho
nacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 09:25 AM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned

Hello and welcome to the forum. I think your list looks pretty good. You don't necessarily have to have the auto feeder. I would recommend a Marineland stealth visitherm heater and the API freshwater master test kit.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 09:42 AM   #3 
Giri