Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-05-2010, 06:15 PM   #1 
Quinn

Buying a cycled tank?

I've been hunting around CL for some deals for Frankie (my 8 yr old half sisters Betta). To make a long story short he's been living in a TINY crappy plastic tank thingy with no heat, and I just found out about it. So I'm trying to get the right thing done for him.

I found a tank, an 8 gallon BiOrb, that apparently is already cycled (I have no fish knowledge so I don't know if its ok to buy an established tank). It is "with or without 2 goldfish". I'm pretty sure Betta's can't live with goldfish, and aren't they supposed to get large? So I would be asking for it without the fish. I'd need to buy a heater, and maybe a few things to put in it. It also comes with some Java Fern. Now I've also never done plant care, but my understanding is they are easy to deal with and don't require much specialized care/ good for beginners. This will be an 8 year olds set up, but obviously I will try to help as much as I can, but that means it can't be anything TOO complicated.

Basically I want to know
a) is it ok to buy a cycled tank / what are the risks vs benefits
b) is a BiOrb an OK tank to use both in its quality and its suitability for a betta (if anyone has one I'd love to see your set up)
c) Am I correct in thinking having a Java Fern in Frankies set up wouldn't make it a billion times harder or more expensive.

THANKS!
Quinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 08:04 PM   #2 
2brown347

1) Buying a cycled tank is fine, it just means that there is established bacteria in the subtrate already. Try to keep it wet when you move the tank. The only real problem would be if the tank has some bacteria or parasite that could be in the gravel but if he has healthy fish in it it should be fine.