Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-12-2010, 08:15 PM   #1 
Stages

Question First Post! 3 gal tank questions

Hi! This is my first time posting, and I have a few questions about my new tank set up. (Please note, these pictures are thumbnails, if you click on them, they will take you to the full size image on Photobucket)
I have Franklin in a plastic storage container with the lid cut out and replaced with window mesh, as you can see here:

Before I had him in a 1 gallon tank, and I felt sorry for him, hence the makeshift tank.

The container is 12 liters (3.1 gal) and is filled to probably a little under 3 gallons.
I am using the Tetra Whisper Internal Filter for 1-3 gallons (http://www.walmart.com/ip/Tetra-Whis...-1-ct/10291765)
and a 7.5 watt heater (http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...&lmdn=SHOP+FOR). I have a thermometer hanging in the tank, as well.

I have two fake plants, as well as a mini flower pot with the hole hot glued over so he can't get stuck. Upon next water change, I will be removing the last traces of multi-colored gravel from the tank.

Now, for the questions:
1) Does this seem like an acceptable set up?
2) How often will I need to change the water?
3) Franklin seems to be a very picky eater- he'll eat a pellet then spit it out, but he gobbles up frozen bloodworms ( I only give him one if he hasn't finished his meal). What should I do about this?
4) Are there any acceptable tank-mates for this size? If so, what would they be? Franklin is very feisty- he spends a considerable amount of his time flaring at his reflection.
5) Does he need a light? I could (in theory) put his light under the cabinet above his tank, but is it really necessary? He'll be living in the kitchen.

And here's a glamor shot of him, just for fun.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice!