Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-27-2010, 01:48 AM   #1 
HappySnapper

Heater for a 2 Gallon? Also pH issues.

This is my second betta (his name is Sartorius) and I had kept my first one Olecranon in a bowel his whole life (maybe 1/2 gallon and he lived 3 years) but this time I got a tank. I am new to the whole tank thing and I also got a few fellow tankmates for him (initially 3 neon tetras and a cory catfish).

First Issue: My tap water comes from a well and seems to be ridiculously high in pH. I tried to control it with some pH decreaser (just a tiny bit) and that worked for a while but then I went to work and someone helped me by doing partial water change for a slightly high ammonia. When I got home all my fish except Sartorius were dead) I tested my levels and it was my pH that had gone from 7.2 to 6.0 overnight at some point. I tried to readjust it with some baking soda and partial change and it was impossible the levels kept fluctuating (not major but by a few points) so I inevitably decided after some discussion that my tap water is impossible to control so I switched to distilled (which I do still treat with conditioner). Is this ok? Also the pH now seems to want to go acidic on me. Right now it's stable at 6.4. How do I control this? Help!

Second Issue: In terms of a heater is 2 gallons too small for one? If not what kind to use? The water feels bathtub water warm...like bathwater for an infant not my brand of super hot bathwater.
HappySnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 01:49 AM   #2 
HappySnapper

and by keeping him in a bowel i mean bowl.

also note I have now put 2 more neons and a cory in which are thriving. my betta seems a bit sluggish (see other post in diseases)

Last edited by dramaqueen; 04-27-2010 at 10:57 AM.
HappySnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 02:29 AM   #3