Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2010, 10:53 AM   #1 
MozartOwner
New Member
 
MozartOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Exclamation Floating, but still alive HELP!

Hello, I'm in panic. I changed Mozart's water 50% did the usual, add salt (aquarium salt), I added "correct pH" because it was a little high, Jungle Fungus Clear and Stress coat. I did this about an hour and a half ago. I fed him and went down stairs, when I came back up he was just floating in a corner. I quickly got another bowl, with fresh water, added everything but the Jungle Fungus clear and still nothing. Pretty soon I am going to put him in the 10 gallon tank and take out the black skirt tetras because they seem to be doing fine. Please help!
MozartOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:01 AM   #2 
MozartOwner
New Member
 
MozartOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
What does bloated look like? Could he just be bloated?

Last edited by MozartOwner; 04-28-2010 at 11:05 AM.
MozartOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:08 AM   #3 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
What are your pH numbers:
for-source water after is has degassed for 24 hours
and tank water
what are you treating him for and how long have you been treating
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:15 AM   #4 
MozartOwner
New Member
 
MozartOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I have a liquid test kit and it is low, but the community tank is high. The stupid thing just says in a separate cup until it's done and then put it in with the water change.

I am treating him for fungus around his face. I just learned a couple weeks ago when I joined that my regular tank cleanings aren't enough, and water changes helped, it's really stupid of me. I have had him for almost a year.

I have been treating him for, well with the fungus clear this is the third day when I am supposed to do a water change which I did. But I put him in a small clean tank a week ago to keep the water fresh and easier to isolate.

Should I put him in the community tank?

Last edited by MozartOwner; 04-28-2010 at 11:19 AM.
MozartOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:39 AM   #5 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
IMO/E it is best to leave the pH alone unless you know what you are doing, pH swing can be deadly, most fish will adjust to the pH of your source water and it is much safer and easier on both you and the fish

What are your pH numbers?
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:40 AM   #6 
MozartOwner
New Member
 
MozartOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I just retook the pH test and it is at 6.8
MozartOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:45 AM   #7 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Is that the tank water with the pH adjuster?

Test your source water....after it has degassed for 24h with an airstone

What are your other water pram number for-ammonia, nitrite, nitrate

At this point I would start by doing 10% daily water changes and the water you add back to his tank needs to be your source water with nothing added except dechlorinator if on city water supply, this will help get him adjusted to your source water pH slow and safe, adding too many chemicals at one time can be stressful on the fish and this can lower their immune response.
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:52 AM   #8 
MozartOwner
New Member
 
MozartOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Yes, the water that he is in now.

I don't know the others, I don't have a tester for those things, I couldn't find them in the store. They only had pH tester. I don't have city water, I have a well.

So now all I can do is wait till tomorrow to do anything else?
MozartOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 06:53 PM   #9 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I agree with oldfishlady about the ph.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 08:27 PM   #10 
MozartOwner
New Member
 
MozartOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
You are probably right but I don't understand why this would happen the second time I've used the stuff
Posted via Mobile Device
MozartOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.