Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2010, 05:05 PM   #1 
brancasterr
Member
 
brancasterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
How long should I wait between stocking...

I just stocked my brand new cycled 10g on wednesday with the neon tetras. I'm excited to get my other fish in there and settled so I can see how my betta likes the environment.

How long should I wait before adding more fish? It's been since wednesday and the water has remained stable throughout.
brancasterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 05:17 PM   #2 
brancasterr
Member
 
brancasterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I'm hoping I can add more today. o.o
brancasterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:20 PM   #3 
brancasterr
Member
 
brancasterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I'm actually planning on adding two ADF's today if that makes any difference. Lol, sorry I keep replying to my own thread I'm just eager! :D
brancasterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:23 PM   #4 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
As long as your tank is cycled you should be able to add all the fish at once. Just watch your numbers for the first week or two.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 06:41 PM   #5 
brancasterr
Member
 
brancasterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Really? I've heard that you have to add them a few at a time even if it is cycled so the tank doesn't go through a mini cycle. But I can't see how two ADF's would cause a spike in anything. Especially because it did cycle for almost 4 weeks and the bacterial colonies are well established.

I was also intending on adding a few cories. You're saying I can put in both the frogs and cories and everything should be fine?

Last edited by dramaqueen; 05-08-2010 at 09:34 PM.
brancasterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 09:52 PM   #6 
Mister Sparkle
Member
 
Mister Sparkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fish2fish View Post
As long as your tank is cycled you should be able to add all the fish at once. Just watch your numbers for the first week or two.
NO, NO, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

10% of capacity every week...that's the goal! Even an established biofilter has to adjust to the new load!
Mister Sparkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 10:17 PM   #7 
Mister Sparkle
Member
 
Mister Sparkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Sorry...for your aquarium, you can do 20%.
Mister Sparkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 11:46 PM   #8 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I agree with Mister Sparkle. That would be too much bioload all at once.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 01:33 AM   #9 
brancasterr
Member
 
brancasterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Well darn it, I already put the ADF's in. What to do what to do?
brancasterr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 01:40 AM   #10 
Kittles
Member
 
Kittles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Should be fine. Just keep an eye on your parameters, and maybe wait a tad longer than suggested before adding any Corydoras to allow your tank to settle (if need be).
Kittles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.