Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-18-2014, 03:08 AM   #1 
vaporeon

Care for these plants?

What fertilizer/care do I need for an Amazon Sword, Hornwort, and Corkscrew Vallisneria? I'm a live plant noob.
vaporeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 08:35 AM   #2 
Islandgaliam

I'm not sure of the Hornwort. Amazon Sword and Corkscrew Val needs root tabs. You're betta will love those plants :)
Islandgaliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 08:50 AM   #3 
tankman12

All of them are easy plants and dont really NEED anything. But it will help, as islandgaliam said root tabs would be good for the swords and vals, unless you have a plant substrate (flourite, eco complete, flora max). So would potassium (made be seachem), i usually see a lot of potassium problems with swords. For the hornwort, it doesnt form roots, so make sure you dont bury it, it will rot that way. But since it feeds off of the water column, get flourish comprehensive. You can also get flourish excel and iron they will help a lot, but not a necessity. The other three you dont really need, nitrogen (have fish in the tank), phosphorus (well water usually has a lot of it. I dont know about city), and trace (i used it once, not a huge fan, so im not going to recommend it). Hope this helps.
Posted via Mobile Device
tankman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 10:17 AM   #4 
RussellTheShihTzu
Reference Team

Root tabs and some sort of liquid (I prefer Seachem Flourish Comprehensive) are all you need unless your plants aren't doing well. If that happens, post photos and we'll make suggestions on additives.
RussellTheShihTzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 10:17 AM   #5 
Tony2632