Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-22-2010, 10:43 PM   #1 
JewlFish

Newbie in need of advice

Any advice appreciated!

To make a long story, short....I have a 1 gallon bowl that currently has a betta and an african dwarf frog in it. The pet store indicated this was the way to go. I believed them and have a couple of dead goldfish and snail to show for it. Trip #4 to the store resulted in the betta. I'm a total novice at this, so please forgive my ignorance. I'm trying to learn fast.

The water smelled and was cloudy, so I did a 100% water change yesterday. I cleaned the gravel too. Today the water is cloudy again and the betta/frog are listless and in shock. From what I gather, I screwed this up in terms of bacteria and nitrates.

I went out today and purchased a 3 gallon tank (w/ filter, heater, new gravel, thermometer, and master test kit). Now I'm looking at all this and don't know where to begin.

What should I do about our betta/frog in the bowl? Are they suffering?
How do I setup the new tank? I really need step by step instructions.
How quickly can I move them over?

Again, thanks for your time. I feel horrible about the way we handled this, there's so much mis-information out there.
JewlFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 01:39 AM   #2 
SaylorKennedy

Well, definitely get the frog out of the bowl, it's too small even for a betta to thrive in (as recommended 2.5 gallons minimum) Frogs are also very messy from what I remember. Not too sure on those guys other than they like to be in groups if possible. I would probably take him back and get a refund saying you didn't get correct information, but that's just me. If you've grown attached to him, I'm sure you can keep him. Someone else will hopefully advise you on what to do with the frog. A 3 gallon for a betta is a perfect size though.