Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-26-2010, 05:19 PM   #1 
ladikara

Not sure what happened...

So today I did a 100% change of Bubbles tank. He was swimming around just fine before the change. He looked happy as can be.

When I did the water change, I had the water sit out over night. I added a conditioner to it before I put it in the tank. I made sure the temp of the water matched exactly before putting Bubbles in. I made sure to slowly mix the older water he was in with the new water before fully putting Bubbles in the tank.

Ever since he has been at the bottom of the tank just sitting there. I just looked closely and he has these little tiny white dots on both eyes. He just isn't moving at all.

The current tank is a 1g. The water temp is at 76. I just did a ph test and it's at 7.6.

I just don't know what I did wrong. I am new to Betta fish...so this may be a learning experience for me.
ladikara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:33 PM   #2 
Betta Slave

Hmm... I'm not sure about this one, but I don't have to deal with betta illnesses that often. My guess is that he might have ich.
Betta Slave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:56 PM   #3 
TheJadeBetta

I had something similar happen. Can you get a pick? How long do you go in between water changes?
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 10:22 PM   #4 
ladikara

Well Bubbles is looking MUCH better. I think it must have been stress. The white is gone off his eyes, so I have no idea what that is. He's swimming around. Not 100% active like he was this morning but getting better as the time passes.

It had been about 3 days since the last water change.
Old 05-26-2010, 10:25 PM   #5 
Betta Slave

Glad to hear he's feeling better. Keep a close eye on him though, pesky illnesses sometimes come back. (I'm sure you know this, but just makin' sure )