Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2010, 09:57 AM   #1 
newfiedragon
Member
 
newfiedragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Rock (Newfoundland...not Alcatraz) :D
Question rescues and impulse buys

I've always heard that a tank should be sitting for a few days before adding fish to it, but I've noticed a lot of people saying that they were at different pet stores, saw a fish that either needed to be rescued from the small container the fish is in or they just really wanted a certain fish and bought it.

Are you able to put a betta in a tank right away (after treating the water, of course)?
newfiedragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 10:01 AM   #2 
ThePearlFish
Member
 
ThePearlFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: VA
I personally have put fish in new tanks before (w/ water conditioned of course) and in "established" ones. both have worked fine for me. I think sometimes it is harder to cycle smaller tanks if I am not mistaken.
ThePearlFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 10:04 AM   #3 
Mitsufishi
New Member
 
Mitsufishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Choctaw Ok
I have never cycled a tank, personally I think thats a option everyone makes on their own. I have impluse/rescue buys and they do just fine.
Mitsufishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 10:16 AM   #4 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
You always have to acclimate a fish... you never just throw one in. But as far as rescues and impulse buys there's no reason you can't set a tank up quickly. Usually on bigger tanks you want it to sit a day before adding the fish if possible just to let the dust from the substrate settle, etc.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 10:24 AM   #5 
newfiedragon
Member
 
newfiedragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Rock (Newfoundland...not Alcatraz) :D
Thanks!

I was wondering because I figure at some point, I'm gonna see either a rescue or an impulse buy, and I didn't want to cause stress to the fish by putting it in a tank that might not be set up properly. I knew you need to treat the water and acclimate the fish, just wasn't sure if the tank needed to sit for a while or if I could just buy everything needed for a new setup at the same time as I bought the fish.
newfiedragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 11:23 AM   #6 
BeautifulBettaFish
New Member
 
BeautifulBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Good Question!
i like to have aged water sitting around (plus i put the betta plus -tap water conditioner )for water changes & possible new arrivals, but i really dont know ,i might just be making more work for myself than need be...
BeautifulBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 03:44 PM   #7 
McAttack
New Member
 
McAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
My personal opinion is that yes it's safe to impulse buy these, as long as you can treat your water. The fact that you can do daily water changes kind of points to it. They're hardy fish. I set up a bowl spur of the moment for my sister and her little guy is very healthy and happy.
McAttack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two rescues angelus2402004 Betta Fish Care 1 05-27-2010 01:58 PM
Two Unplanned Rescues! Zenandra Betta Pictures 10 04-24-2010 02:29 PM
2 New Rescues - Very Sad TeenyTinyTofu Betta Pictures 31 04-23-2010 05:38 PM
2 more Walmart rescues.... Calmwaters Betta Pictures 20 11-09-2009 03:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.