Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2014, 11:50 AM   #1 
TheInstrumentalist
New Member
 
TheInstrumentalist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte,NC
Cycling Question

Hello all! As the title says, I have a question about cycling a new tank. I am expecting a move soon, but once we move I plan on getting a betta ASAP. So I was wondering if it would be a good idea to begin the cycling process before the move? that way I could get some good bacteria growing on the filer and such. I s this feasible? I was planning on doing a fishless cycle anyway, which I am aware can take quite a while. Thoughts?
TheInstrumentalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 01:59 PM   #2 
VivianKJean
Member
 
VivianKJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NYC
yeah, I don't see why you can't start cycling everything now.

Just make sure than when you actually move, you float the filter media/cartridge in water from the tank and add some pure ammonia for the bacteria to feed off of.

You can actually cycle using a bucket. Buy a bucket that is the same size as your tank and fill it with water and put a filter on that.
VivianKJean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 02:07 PM   #3 
TheInstrumentalist
New Member
 
TheInstrumentalist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte,NC
Another question. None of my tanks have filters as of yet because I can't find mine. Can I start cycling while doing daily water changes? Also should I use my heater on the bucket or tank that I decide to start cycling in?
TheInstrumentalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 02:11 PM   #4 
TheInstrumentalist
New Member
 
TheInstrumentalist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte,NC
Btw I did manage to find a filter pad. not sure if it's used or not, though, as it's packaging is open. I f I did do the filterless/fishless cycle, I'd float the filter in the water.
TheInstrumentalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 02:11 PM   #5 
VivianKJean
Member
 
VivianKJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NYC
You can't cycle without a filter. So until you get a filter you cannot start cycling your tank.
VivianKJean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 02:16 PM   #6 
TheInstrumentalist
New Member
 
TheInstrumentalist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte,NC
ok. Thanks for your help!
TheInstrumentalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yes this another cycling question agunn1231 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 17 11-13-2012 01:50 AM
Cycling question... BettaSnap456 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 10 01-02-2012 04:53 PM
Question about cycling mjoy79 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 11-22-2011 02:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.