Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-10-2010, 05:27 AM   #1 
Welsh

How many fry

I'm not planning to breed just yet, im pretty much spent out but in the future when I am more experienced and have done a lot more research i am hoping to and was wondering does anyone have an estimate as to how many fry would likely be born from a first time mother and father? I think housing the females would be the easiest but the only thing putting me off is housing the males. My mother seems uninterested in my hobby but keeps nagging me to breed my male, she just doesnt seem to listen when I tell her how difficult it is. lol.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 12:41 PM   #2 
indjo
TFK Moderator

I'm no expert, but in the past I was crazy enough to count my results (about 20 spawn - the fry all died of course). For fully grown VT and betta fighters (I don't know what you call them) the fry range between 800 - 1300 with an average of +/-1000 fry. I don't know how many "modern" bettas produce but many talk about producing around 300 - 400 fry. I don't really take care of my fry like others because I can only tend to 100 fish at a time. And I breed 3 - 4 pairs each month. So more than that goes into the catfish pond.

As a beginner, be ready to house at least 200.
indjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 05:13 PM   #3 
Oldfishlady

This is just a guess.....

On average for the beginner you may get lots of eggs, then wigglers, then free swimmer this number varies from 200 to 0 and the average being around 20-60.
Then you go into the juvie stage and the culling starts- average numbers roughly 10-50
sub-adult stage maybe 1-30 into the 12-16 weeks

A good manageable number for a first spawns averages around 10-30 and this number can be even more with a good breeding pair, right set-up and feeding of the fry and proper husbandry practiced.