Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2010, 02:29 PM   #1 
Kohni
New Member
 
Kohni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
New to the forum and need some guidance!

Hello everyone! This is my first post here!

Here is my set up: Eclipse System 3


I am going to get a Java Fern to put to the right of the lantern. I plan on cycling this tank before I choose a Betta. So, that brings me to my first question:

Can I add the plant now and cycle with it in there? If not when is the best time to add the plant?

As far as cycling goes I am going to follow these guidlines:
http://www.flippersandfins.net/cyclingfishlesshowto.htm

That site says use 5 drops of ammonia per gallon. That would be 15 drops for this tank. That sounds like a lot. Is it?

Cycling takes a while but I want to do this right so that my fish will be healthy!

Today I'm going to get my heater, test kit, maybe a plant, and some water. I have to use bottled water in the tank because our tap water is evil!

I'm really getting excited about my new fish! Any advice is welcome! Thanks
Kohni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 02:32 PM   #2 
beta novice
Member
 
beta novice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ohio
only advice i can give is you can have fun get a variety of foods flakes bloodworms etc
beta novice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:06 PM   #3 
sarbear
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'm a new betta owner but all the things I read about cycling a tank said that live plants actually help the cycling process go faster.

I just bought a new tank for a 2nd betta fish and started cycling it last night. I added about 6 drops of ammonia and my ammonia level is 4 ppm, I guess it's supposed to be between 3 and 5 ppm (while cycling). Ammonia comes in different strengths (mine is 10%) so you have to just try a few drops and wait 30 minutes and test the level and then add more if needed until you get the level right.

And make sure that you have PURE ammonia, there shouldn't be any other ingredients on the label, just ammonium hydroxide. :)

Last edited by sarbear; 06-18-2010 at 03:08 PM.
sarbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:18 PM   #4 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
What is wrong with your tap water?

Bottled water is not regulated and sometimes it is just filtered tap water and can still contain chlorine and chloramines that are harmful to fish and the good bacteria need to cycle.... so be sure to use a dechloranator.
Also, the filtration process can remove the needed minerals that the fish needs for long term health and you will need to add that back or use a 50/50 mix of bottled water and tap.

And just a note-using bottled water will get costly due to the amount of water changes that are needed on a 3g tank to provide quality water for fish to thrive after the fishless cycle is complete.

Your tank looks lovely too....and welcome to the wonderful world of Betta keeping.....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 11:30 PM   #5 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
Hello and welcome to the forum.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 12:22 PM   #6 
Kohni
New Member
 
Kohni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Thanks for the info guys!

My tap water is so bad that I went through 3 filter pump thingies (technical term) the last time I had a tank because the water is so hard on stuff. I am using Ozarka water right now. What sort of additive should I use in the tank to make it better for the fish?

I got a heater and Java Fern yesterday:


While I was at Petsmart I had to go look at the Bettas. Half of them were dead!!

I also looked at the mystery snails they have there. Do you guys think a snail and a betta is too much for a 3 gallon?
Kohni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 12:24 PM   #7 
beta novice
Member
 
beta novice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ohio
yeah plus they reproduce like crazy and betta's are good with hardwater
beta novice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 12:24 PM   #8 
Kohni
New Member
 
Kohni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Weird I just noticed that on my original post the picture of the tank isn't there anymore. Is there a reason for this?

thanks!
Kohni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 12:50 PM   #9 
Kohni
New Member
 
Kohni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Well I refreshed and the picture is there. Weird!
Kohni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 12:53 PM   #10 
beta novice
Member
 
beta novice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ohio
umm thats weird and try not to double post
beta novice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.