Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-23-2010, 03:20 PM   #1 
Lion Mom

Am I overfeeding my bettas????

I have been keeping bettas for a couple of years now and my oldest is 22 months & second oldest is 20 months. I THOUGHT I was feeding a pretty good diet till I read how many people only feed 2 - 4 pellets a day.

All of my food is high quality - I REFUSE to feed ANY of my fish (bettas & non-bettas) any food that has "Fish Meal" as a first igredient!!!

Anyhoo, this is my feeding scheduale:

Mon. - 5/6 Omega One Betta Buffet Pellets
Tues. - Sm. pinch of Brine Shrimp Plus Flakes by Ocean Nutrition
Wed. - 5/6 New Life Spectrum Pellets
Thurs. - Brine Shimp Plus Flakes
Fri. - 5/6 Omega One Betta Buffet Pellets
Sat. - 3/4 Omega One Freeze Dried Blood Worms
Sun. - Fast

The freeze dried blood worms are actually a new addition in the past month because I had read good things about them. However, I have read on here that the freeze dried foods AREN'T any good!!!

Two of my 6 males are in Eclipse 3 tanks, 2 are in 5 gal. tanks & two are in 10 gal. tanks (everybody has their own tank - none of the tanks are divided). Everybody gets 50% partial water changes with gravel vac once a week. All tanks are heated, filtered & have a combination of live & silk plants.

So, AM I overfeeding????
Lion Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 03:45 PM   #2 
Adastra

Not necessarily. It depends on the betta and how much exercise they get. Because your bettas are in larger tanks they probably have a higher activity level than those kept in 2-3 gallon tanks, and therefore use up more calories.