Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-24-2010, 10:48 AM   #1 
beta novice

how many females?

how many females can i have in a 15 gallon tank i just got a 15 gallon tank for my platies and betta because my tank was leaking need to re calk it but once thats done the tank will be empty i was thinking a sorroity how many can i have i already have one female
beta novice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 12:35 PM   #2 
doggyhog

I'd say no more then 12.
doggyhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 12:53 PM   #3 
Duckzorz

Quote:
Originally Posted by doggyhog View Post
I'd say no more then 12.
12? really? the woman at the pet smart i go to said that female bettas are just as aggressive as males are. i'm by no means a betta expert as i was wondering this myself.

i have one female betta which i just bought yesterday, 4 rasboras, 3 glowlight tetras and a ghost shrimp in my 10 gallon tank. if i were to try to put more female bettas in the tank how many would be okay?

also, would i need to devide them? or would they be okay swimming around together with the other fish.
Duckzorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 02:43 PM   #4 
doggyhog

Duckzorz:

Generally, pet stores don't know what the heck they are talking about. Here's some general info on keeping females together: http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=29402

With your tank, No more fish. It's already on the verge of being over stocked and female bettas need at least 10g to them selves. If you have bigger then a 10g you can add tank mates to a sorority.
Old 06-24-2010, 05:46 PM   #5 
Adastra