Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2010, 09:15 PM   #1 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
Sorority planning

I think I am going to start a sorority in my 10 gallon. I have a heater, decorations, and gravel. Ive been debating whether or not to get a filter. Is it recommended, and if so which would you recommend? I already have 2 females, Abigill and Rosie, so Im guna pick out some more soon. Im probaly going to go with either 4 or 5. But first I want to get the tank ready. So filter or no filter?
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 09:42 PM   #2 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
IMO a filter is a must in a sorority. Your going to have a lot of fish producing a lot of waste and it is imperative to cycle the tank before hand. Also because uncycled tanks (no matter what size) need 100% changes it would be very stressful on your girls to take them out weekly for water changes.

Anytime you take the fish out you have to rearrange the entire tank and re-introduce the whole sorority, which will mean that the pecking order will have to be established all over again.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 11:02 PM   #3 
dukie1346
Member
 
dukie1346's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wisconsin
I completely agree with the post before me. A filter would have to be a must.
dukie1346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 12:28 AM   #4 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
So what all supplies would I need to start cycling? I think I read that I need ammonia??
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 12:55 AM   #5 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
You need a liquid test kit (like the API master test kit). To do a fishless cycle you need pure ammonia so you need to read the lable and make sure it doesn't say anything but ammonia and when you shake it thereh should be no bubbles.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 10:50 AM   #6 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
Would they sell pure ammonia at petco?
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 11:16 AM   #7 
Narnian
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Ammonia is used for household cleaning and such, so no, Petco wouldn't sell it. :) It can be found at Ace Hardware and I've also seen it at Dollar Tree. As everyone else said, check the ingredients so it doesn't have any perfumes, and shake the bottle.
Narnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 11:41 AM   #8 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Yeah, the best place I've heard to get it was from a dollar store.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 02:59 PM   #9 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
Just found something in the cabinet. It says CLEAR AMMONIA. But ingredients are softened water, ammonia, and chelating Agent, so that wouldnt work right?
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 08:56 PM   #10 
louu
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: N.S.W, Australia
not sure what chelating agent is but really you want the only ingredients to be water and ammonia, my ammonia is only 40% ammonia and it only takes a quarter teaspoon to get the ammonia reading up very high. I used cloudy ammonia which some people think has soap in it so I need a different one though it was fine for goldfish and betta's which I used by accident.

The general rule is to look at the ingredients and shake the bottle if it foams (not water bubbles from shaking) but foamy soap bubbles that pile on top of each other high than it has other soapy ingredients.

Gosh I hope all that isnt confusing! and please ask as many questions as you need! :)
louu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.