Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-29-2010, 02:43 AM   #1 
elv91

oh I have a question??

I have my betta in a 1 gallon tank and i was wondering if that would be to big or to small for him. Everyone on here seems to know a lot about them so i thought i would ask. Sorry if it seems like a stupid question. I'm new to bettas lol (:
elv91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 03:28 AM   #2 
metalbetta

I'd say the minimum for bettas is 1 gallon. I keep all of mine in 1G tanks and they work pretty well for my temporary space limitations, and they seem to have enough room for one fish each. There are others that will say that 5 gallons is the minimum but IMO for one fish that's a little much. But that's just me.

A 1 gallon tank should be fine, but if I had the opportunity I'd upgrade to 2.5 gallons. Really it's up to you. Just nothing smaller than a gallon! lol
metalbetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 09:56 AM   #3 
FloridaBettas239

1 gallon?

I would say 1 gallon is very good yes bigger is always better for your fish if you were locked in a room for the rest of your life would you like a small room where you cant strech your legs or a big one where you can move around but 1 gallon is fine i have several bettas in 1 gallon and 1 1/2 gallon tanks and they do great ive seen bettas live in small nasty conditions and rescue them and watch them turn back to a bright blue again or there fins grow longer bettas are tuff fish but still should be taken care of very well hope i could help
FloridaBettas239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 10:03 AM   #4 
kuklachica