Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2010, 05:11 PM   #1 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
Setting up a breeding/grow-out tank.

I know I have asked this. But can the breeding tank be the grow-out tank? If so, what is good sized tank? Does anyone have pictures or tips for setting up one?
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 05:24 PM   #2 
FloridaBettas239
Member
 
FloridaBettas239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Gun Shine State
I breed in a 10 gallon tank so depending on how many fry and how many live i can sometimes grow out in the 10 gallon until i start seeing the trouble makers and then they are on there own and when i end up with a good bit of fry i grow them out in a 29 gallon i go to the pet stores and buy used 29 gallon tanks for 20 or 30 with a hood and its a good size grow out tank i never have any problems and they grow real nice in the 29 but also you should look for your pet store to have a sale mine just had new aquariums for a dollar a gallon i bought a new 55 gallon for 55 dollars plus tax im going to try that for a grow out tank or divide it in half and use each side as a grow out anyway i think 29 gallons is perfect
FloridaBettas239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 05:35 PM   #3 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
Okay, thank you. So 29 gallons should work as a breeding and a grow out tank?
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 05:42 PM   #4 
FloridaBettas239
Member
 
FloridaBettas239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Gun Shine State
I mean i have never spawn in a 29 gallon i only have spwan in a 10 gallon and then later down the road i will have the 29 cycled and switch everyone over when there big enough but you could divide a 29 gallon in half let them breed and do everything like normal and once they got big enough take the divider out and let them have the whole 29 gallons but i spawn in a 10 gallon and grow out in a 29
FloridaBettas239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 05:45 PM   #5 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
Oh, okay. Thank you.

ALSO:

What type of siphon is good? Sponge Filter? Any tips?

Last edited by TheJadeBetta; 06-30-2010 at 05:54 PM.
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:07 PM   #6 
FloridaBettas239
Member
 
FloridaBettas239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Gun Shine State
yes thats what i use is a lee's aquariums sponge or a hydro sponge filter and i get a gang valve where i can slow down the flow and when the bottom of the tank gets dirty i use air line tubing to suck up the stuff off the bottom and when i want to do a water change i put a air stone on the end on the tubing so no fry get sucked up and lost
FloridaBettas239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:11 PM   #7 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
I am confused on using airline tubing for a siphon. How does that work?
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:12 PM   #8 
Dead Sunlight
Member
 
Dead Sunlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: California
A VERY soft siphon is reccomended to ensure that no fry get accidently sucked up. I reccomend a filter and heater that you can adjust for the spawning cycle. (Sponge filters work fine). As for spawning tank sizes, you can start out with a 10 gallon. For a grow-out tank, find something no smaller than 20 gallons. (I like to use a 30 gallon to ensure room). However, it is possible to do the entire spawning in the grow-out tank.

Good luck!!!

- Dead Sunlight
Dead Sunlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:26 PM   #9 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
Pretty much a homemade siphon.
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:55 PM   #10 
FloridaBettas239
Member
 
FloridaBettas239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Gun Shine State
so the reason i say use that clear air line tubing is because it dont suck to hard and mess with things it just slowly fills up your jugs for how much water you want to take out of the tank and when im taking water out i siphon from the bottom so it sucks up all the junk on the bottom and the tank stays clear and clean and then i use the air line to add water to so it dont put to much to fast and it slowly adds the water but thats the only thing i use airline tubing for and then i have a sponge filter running all the time
FloridaBettas239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.