Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-01-2010, 08:10 PM   #1 
PwnCho

Question Betta Newbie - new 10g & maybe fin rot?

Hello, I am new to betas and have a couple questions.

(Please feel free to re-direct me to a sticky/website if these questions have been asked many times before and it would save your fingers from typing a whole lot.)

I have noticed that my fish's tail is ripped looking, and I have removed a plastic plant and the bowl it was in, and now it's in a small hexagon shaped tank that it came in. There is some gravel and a treasure chest for it to hide behind, but I have bought a used 10 gallon tank with a small heater, gravel filter, and an air-pump for the fish to live in. I also bought aquarium salt & ammonia tester.

The 10 gallon tank has white crusted stuff on the lid, around the case that holds the light, and a bit around the tank itself. I was told the whole set-up was a year old, if it helps.

I'm wondering if there is anything that may remove this safely without harming my fish in the future. As of now, I have used an algae sponge and a wire sponge with hot water.

Also, since I only have 1 beta to go in the tank, will I need to do anything to the tank to get it ready for my fish?
I have read a bit about a process called cycling, which if I understand correctly is done fish-less and it helps to establish beneficial bacteria to help change the ammonia from fish to nitrates.

I have yet to wash the gravel that came with the tank, and I have read that beneficial bacteria live in already established tanks, the tank I obtained was from a pet store that was closing.
Will the gravel still have bacteria I need to prepare the tank for my fish?

I feel horrible about the fish being in such a small space, is there anything that would help possibly speed up the process but still be safe to place the fish in afterward?