Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2010, 08:33 PM   #11 
wallywestisthebest333
Member
 
wallywestisthebest333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Currently East Coast
nvm. =[

Last edited by wallywestisthebest333; 07-04-2010 at 08:35 PM.
wallywestisthebest333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 09:27 PM   #12 
XrAdEr
New Member
 
XrAdEr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
You dont need a sponge o.o...just lift the U shaped tube..
XrAdEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 09:40 PM   #13 
wallywestisthebest333
Member
 
wallywestisthebest333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Currently East Coast
I can't get mine to stay lifted though. =[ how do you get yours to stay lifted enough that it slows the flow without stopping it?
wallywestisthebest333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 11:17 AM   #14 
CayennePepper
New Member
 
CayennePepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
I have a Penguin Power Filter 100 that came with a 10 gal. Marineland kit I got that has too strong of current also (seems like its better suited for 20 gal. honestly). I tried pulling up on the u shaped tube but 1. the cover doesn't fit after I get it to the right current and 2. the spill-over isn't enough to turn the Bio-Wheel.

Any suggestions? I don't want to baffle it if at all possible and I can't do the filterless method.
CayennePepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 12:08 AM   #15 
akjadestar
Member
 
akjadestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
I'm clueless about filters, I've never had a tank big enough to need one, and now I'm buying a 10 gallon from Kijiji (probably) And I know it comes with the Penguin power filter... is that the one giving you grief right now?
akjadestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 12:34 AM   #16 
CayennePepper
New Member
 
CayennePepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Yes, its a Penguin BIO-Wheel 100 Power Filter. As shown here: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...500_AA300_.jpg

As a temporary solution I have raised the U shaped tube because Caye needs to be in there stress-free, especially after suffering from finrot and ammonia poisoning before. But the Bio-wheel isn't turning and the lids don't fit. Do some research on the different filters before you decide to buy one.

WallyWest, the tube on mine fits into the other tubing just so that there is enough friction to keep it from falling back down. If yours isn't able to I'd suggest wedging something in between (so long as its not disturbing anything else including the water).
CayennePepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 12:39 AM   #17 
akjadestar
Member
 
akjadestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Oh I'm not actually buying that filter, but the 10 gallon tank I'm probably getting from Kijiji comes with it, so I'm wondering if I should start researching on a different kind of filter.
akjadestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 12:51 AM   #18 
CayennePepper
New Member
 
CayennePepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Let me guess... Marineland kit? Thats how I got mine...
CayennePepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 02:26 PM   #19 
FloridaBettas239
Member
 
FloridaBettas239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Gun Shine State
I think sponge filter's are best for betta's. There is no chance of fin's getting tore. Sucked up or anything. To me the sponge filter's seem the best. Now you can get a regular filter like a aqua tech or aquaclear. And the sell a foam filter that goes on the inlet tube so it can't suck him up or tare his fin's. But you still have the advantage's of a sponge filter. With the advantage's of a aquaclear. That's what i have on all my tank's

SEE HOW I HAVE A SPONGE FILTER ON THE INLET TUBE SO IT'S LIKE I ADDED ANOTHER STAGE OF FILTRATION TO THE FILTER.


The box come's with a whole bunch of adapter's to it will fit any filter type...
FloridaBettas239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 05:20 PM   #20 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
I use an aquaflow 50 in my 4gallon, it was initially in my 2.5 but the Elite Stingray that I was using for my betta was WAY too strong for the poor little guy so I switched them. It can be used for tanks up to 50Litres, when I first bought it I was sceptical because it looked kinda cheap but in the tank it looks good, its also adjustable and I would definately buy another one :)
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats the coloring of my bettas carguy123 Betta Pictures 6 02-24-2010 04:52 PM
Tanks- which kit brand gives you a filter that is not too strong for Bettas? BettaBabe16 Betta Fish Care 5 12-11-2008 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.