Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-08-2010, 06:55 AM   #1 
stardust

Betta interested in algae tablet.

Hi, I am a newbie so to speak with Bettas. Well, at least caring for them properly. I had one before about ten years ago and now I see I did a lot wrong. I guess I was lucky because he did well while I had him. I had to give him away when I moved. Anyway, I have learned tons over the past 6 weeks reading here and seem to having a very happy VT boy, Lightning McQueen. He's the kids' ... can you tell?

My question is will rubbing and biting on an algae tablet hurt McQueen. I just added ottos to his tank and there isn't much algae, so I put a tablet in plus a little blanched zuchinni. McQueen kept going under the zuchinni and messing with it. Then when the algae tablet got really soft and about 2/3 eaten, he started rubbing on it and biting at it. It reminded me how a dog sometimes rubs on something that is dead. Now that it's gone, he's not rubbing on anything and act fairly normal except for keep on eye on his new friends. Do I need to do anything to prevent him from having contact with the algae tablet in the future?
stardust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 08:34 AM   #2 
FloridaBettas239

Yes bettas are very hardy fish this is why you and most people have such luck with them and makes them the perfect kid's fish..

There is nothing to worry about they can eat algae waffers it's just like us eatting are veggies some people feed there bettas frozen pea's to help clean them out and make them healthy. The only thing i would worry about is if he just ate the whole thing. If he sat there for hours and ate the whole thing i would say be careful he dont eat to much.
FloridaBettas239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 08:45 AM   #3 
stardust