Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2010, 06:47 PM   #11 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
API Master kit
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 06:52 PM   #12 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Good....... on the nitrate reagents- it sometimes will settle giving false reading, shake the heck out of it, bang it on the table a couple of times and shake it until your arm hurts and then change hands and shake some more....then re-test the nitrate/also check the expiration dates-you should have nitrate reading by now and this tank does have a filter and always has...right.....and the tank doesn't have a lot of active growing plants, a few should not change it
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 06:55 PM   #13 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Yes all my tanks have always had filters even the 2.4 gall.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:12 PM   #14 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welsh View Post
Yes all my tanks have always had filters even the 2.4 gall.
I thought they did, but just wanted to make sure....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 07:20 PM   #15 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Is 0-nitrate a bad thing for a tank?
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:13 AM   #16 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
It is not a bad thing, but you should be showing nitrate level in a cycled filtered tank at least by the 8th week, very odd that you are not getting a nitrate level yet....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:25 AM   #17 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Obviously I've messed up somewhere, do you have an idea what in the world i've done? lol

Last edited by bearwithfish; 07-09-2010 at 09:35 PM.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:39 AM   #18 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Did you shake the heck out of the nitrate reagent bottles and check to expiration date?
Not over cleaning the substrate or filter media or no new filter media added? no 100% cleanings not 100% water changes but a tear down of the tank....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:52 AM   #19 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Nope, I clean the gravel once every two weeks, the dates are fine and I did shake teh bottle like a mad woman.

What I have noticed is that after testing the water yesterday I was too lazy to clean the test tubes and the Nitrate tube has now changed colour, its showing up as 5 on the chart, I dont know if this counts as its been standing for about 24 hours or so.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:55 AM   #20 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
I would do the test again, I only give the test tube and cap a rinse in warm water between test.
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.