Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2010, 04:40 PM   #1 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
First Cycle

Okay I am going to cycle my ten gallon so i can start a Sorority. I just picked up the API master freshwater test kit from petco. That should have everything I need right? I still havnt gotten ammonia but Ill probaly head to a dollar store tonight. I think what im doing is going to be a fishless cycle? I really have no idea what im doing so if anyone could give me step by step instructions on how to cycle or a link to a website with good isntructions that would really help. The heater and all the dec be in it while Im cycling? Also if I am not going to get a filter how often would I need to do water changes?
Thanks Again
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 04:46 PM   #2 
wallywestisthebest333
Member
 
wallywestisthebest333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Currently East Coast
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by tumtum View Post
Okay I am going to cycle my ten gallon so i can start a Sorority. I just picked up the API master freshwater test kit from petco. That should have everything I need right? I still havnt gotten ammonia but Ill probaly head to a dollar store tonight. I think what im doing is going to be a fishless cycle? I really have no idea what im doing so if anyone could give me step by step instructions on how to cycle or a link to a website with good isntructions that would really help. The heater and all the dec be in it while Im cycling? Also if I am not going to get a filter how often would I need to do water changes?
Thanks Again
I might be wrong but I think you only need to change the water in a fishless cycle when the ammonia gets too high for the bacteria to live. like .4/4 ppm or .35/3.5ppm. Other than that you just dose the tank and leave it. =]
I'd recommend keeping the heater in there while it cycles and turning the heater up to 83-85 so that the bacteria will be warmer and grow faster! =]

I wanted to start cycling sooner but stuff keeps getting in the way. >=/ GRR!

Also here's a good page to reference: http://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm
wallywestisthebest333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 05:55 PM   #3 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
You need a filter or sponge filter to cycle, without a stable source of oxygenated water you will not get a true cycle. The good bacteria are aerobic and can't convert ammonia and nitrite in the absence of oxygen

Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 07:28 PM   #4 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
But isnt there oxygen in the top of the tank?
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 07:36 PM   #5 
JKfish
Member
 
JKfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Georgia
it wouldn't be enough, the movement caused by the filter would oxygenate the water much better, and keep the bacteria alive.

If you are going to use pure ammonia, make sure it is good quality, with no extra additives, no scents, nothing. I'm pretty sure if it foams when you shake it, then you shouldn't use it.
JKfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 01:50 PM   #6 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
Okay. So just to make sure before I start saving up for one, it is impossible to cycle without a filter? And would a filter I got from my old 1 gallon work?
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 10:37 PM   #7 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
That's right. You can't cycle without a filter. That's where a lot of the beneficial bacteria lives.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 01:11 PM   #8 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
Thanks for clearing that up. Ok so how would I know if the filter i have will work?
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 01:24 PM   #9 
FloridaBettas239
Member
 
FloridaBettas239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Gun Shine State
Yeah because a lot of the bacteria live's in the filter so when the water pass threw. It killl's the ammonia so a filter is a must on a cycled tank even if you got an 8 dollar sponge filter. Something to keep water moving
FloridaBettas239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 01:32 PM   #10 
tumtum
New Member
 
tumtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere in Missouri
Well I dont know what kind of filter it is, but it moves the water would a pic help?
tumtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What does cycle mean? PBJ Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 05-24-2010 08:59 PM
How do you cycle? a123andpoof Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 8 05-21-2010 06:26 PM
cycle a 1g? ScuitoAmi150 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 22 01-12-2010 07:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.