Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2012, 10:06 PM   #2741 
Mo
Member
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
If you use tetra aqua safe 7-8 drops per gallon will treat it fully
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:27 PM   #2742 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Okay, did a partial change on my tank and now, the filter pump won't run when I plug it back in.

5G Hawkeye with filter pump that hangs on the back of the tank. Can't think of what brand it is but came with the tank. Cycled tank so understandably concerned that I can't get it going.

Have taken the intake off and confirmed it's not blocked. Water in the pump.

Any ideas to troubleshoot?
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:29 PM   #2743 
Mo
Member
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Ry cleaning the propeller looking thing that's right by the tube when you pull it out, this is usually my problem
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:43 PM   #2744 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Thanks for the idea, Mo. I think this is Aquatech filter pump. Have taken the pump out, propeller doesn't seem to be blocked. Still can't get it to do anything. I've never had a problem after a water change. How long will my cycle survive without a pump? I'm just feeling sick.

I can hear something when I plug it in, but it's not moving any water.

Last edited by Canuck Fins; 05-04-2012 at 11:45 PM.
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:46 PM   #2745 
Mo
Member
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Slowly the bacteria will die or go into hibernation. Typically. Long as it is wet the majority will still be on for around 12 hours, Ive had this problem too. IMG aquatech filter wouldn't turn on and never did. They tend to do that IME. Your best choose would to buy a new one, transfer the media, and keep on top of good water quality
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:52 PM   #2746 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
This tank has been cycled and planted for a little more than 14 months. I've never had a problem - not with the tank or with my fish Ninja - so this is quite frustrating.

ETA: Thanks for all the help. My DH took the piece out of the pump a second time and fiddled with the propeller and got it to work.

Last edited by Canuck Fins; 05-05-2012 at 12:01 AM.
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 12:03 AM   #2747 
Mo
Member
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
So it was the propeller? I thought so. That is usually what happens to me with that filter aswell as others, usually running it under water and scrubbing it works well
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:42 PM   #2748 
mellotune
New Member
 
mellotune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Anchorage, AK
I have a question. I accidentally purchased a Hydro-Sponge II instead of a Hydro-Sponge I for my 5 gallon tank. Is it okay to put the larger sponge in? Aesthetics isn't a big deal to me but I'd like to know before cycling rather than later. Additionally, were I to switch the filters at a later date, I would assume that I'd have to cycle the new filter with dirty water from tank. Sound right? Thanks in advance!
mellotune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:59 AM   #2749 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellotune View Post
Is it okay to put the larger sponge in?
Yes. The bigger sponge provides more area/volume for your beneficial bacteria to grow

Quote:
Originally Posted by mellotune View Post
Additionally, were I to switch the filters at a later date, I would assume that I'd have to cycle the new filter with dirty water from tank.
Close, but not quite. Actually, you'd want to place the new filter media in the flow from the cycled filter. After a week or so, it ought to be teeming with BB.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:14 AM   #2750 
mellotune
New Member
 
mellotune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Anchorage, AK
Thanks! :)
mellotune is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Question CodeRed Betta Fish Care 10 07-30-2009 03:23 PM
Quick question. IonBaller07 Betta Fish Care 21 06-21-2009 05:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.