Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-17-2010, 11:51 AM   #1 
kakashikage

Question Inexpensive tanks??

I've had a betta for about a week now, and he's in a one-gallon tank, which I have come to realize is woefully inadequate for such an active fish! However, I'm a graduate student on a tight budget. I'd like to get a three- or five-gallon tank (five gal is the max my apartment complex will allow without paying extra money on my lease). Does anyone have any advice on a good three- to five-gallon tank kit that will not be super expensive to maintain? (I'm willing to pay a bit extra upfront in order to save time/money on maintenance in the future!)
kakashikage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 11:58 AM   #2 
frogipoi

There are things on Aquabid that are cheapish so look around on there. Also some people here might be willing to give you one for free!
frogipoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:05 PM   #3 
kakashikage

Thanks, frogipoi! I'm doing tons of research because Amadeus (my precious betta) was an unexpected addition to my family and I had no idea what to do with a betta! He was used as a decoration at a wedding reception, and the maid of honor wanted to flush him at the end, but no way would I stand for that! I grew up with all kinds of pets and can't even imagine trashing a living creature like that!
I feel bad for Amadeus, because I know I don't yet have all the supplies he really needs, but I am accumulating stuff as quickly as I can, and doing hours of research to meet his needs. These forums have been a lifesaver, everyone has been so nice and helpful, I don't know what I'd do without you all!
Old 07-17-2010, 12:08 PM   #4 
Adastra