Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-02-2010, 01:51 PM   #1 
dans50s

companions

i am new to this. I have a beautiful male beta. I had bought a female and keep her in a different tank, but she passed after a few weeks. I was wondering what type of fish i can add to his tank without any problems
dans50s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 03:25 PM   #2 
Welsh

Welcome to the forum

We need a few more details for us to be able to help you, like....

What size tank do you keep your male in? Is it heated and filtered?

Sorry to hear about your female
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 04:11 PM   #3 
dans50s

he is in a 2 gallon plastic tank with a filter/ no heater. He seems to be doing fine,but i think he might be a bit more happy with a friend
Old 08-04-2010, 04:43 PM   #4 
Kittles

You should definitely throw a heater in there. Even if your atmospheric temperature is appropriate, it's probably not stable. Unstable temperatures lower your betta's immune system and cause quite a bit of stress. I think there's a Tetra heater at Walmart that is made for small tanks that a lot of members here use without problems which keeps your temperature at ~78F. And stable.

As for the tank mates, I think two gallons is too small for anything else to be added. Maybe a shrimp? I think most people suggest a minimum of five gallons for ADFs because they like to be in pairs, but I could be wrong. The last thing I can think of is a snanil, if that's something that interests you.
Kittles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:41 AM   #5 
Welsh