Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-05-2010, 12:53 AM   #1 
newlynothere

A low(er)-stress way of moving a fish to my dorm?

Hey guys! I'm new to the betta world and one of the main reasons that I decided to get into it was so that I could have my little buddy, Zombie with me at college. He is currently in a one gallon tank but in a day or so I'll be moving him to his five gallon with a filter and heater and places to hide and such.
I was wondering what the easiest way to move muh fishy to my dorm with me would be. The dorm is about an hour away and I'm not sure the easiest way to transport him and his tank and such along with all the other things i need for schooling would be. If anyone has any tips on getting Mr. Zombie into my new home easily and as stress free as possible, I would reeeally appreciate it! Thank you so much!
newlynothere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:10 AM   #2 
kikuhoshi

How far away is your school? If it's relatively close (30 minutes; hey, I lived on campus during the week because I'm without a car/license), then you cam probably just transfer him in his tank. If it's farther away (or you don't think that you like that idea), put him in the cup he came in (or a tupperware container with a lid & plenty of air) and transport him like that.

I don't think there's really a completely non-stress way to do it, but I never had trouble with my male fish. Then again, I bought him as a dorm fish for when I lived on-campus at a school 2 hours away, so he kinda got used to the commute.

When you're going there, try to keep him cushioned, so that he's not bouncing around. If you're capable, hold him (I'm not sure if you're driving or someone else is), because I noticed that holding my fish seemed to make him feel more comfortable (didn't bite his fins during/afterwards).