Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-06-2010, 06:35 PM   #1 
jemko

My Betta isn't eating

I just bought this fish three days ago and am feeding him flaked food.
Well, you see I've noticed that he'll eat maybe one or two little flakes and thats it.
This is my first time using flaked food for a Betta, for all my past Betta's I've fed them the pellet food.
Should I switch him to pellet food or something else?
Please could someone help me. I'm worried about my little Francis!
jemko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 07:02 PM   #2 
Welsh

When you add fish to a new environment it can take a few days for them to adjust to their new surroundings, you may notice that he is hiding or is very skittish but the good news is that in a few days he should become used to his new home and start to eat a bit more. Some members on this forum have gone over a week trying to get their bettas to eat food so just be patient and eventually you won't be able to stop him from eating lol
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 09:02 PM   #3 
LoveSGSE

Agreed. My hmpk male I got 2 days ago isn't eating. But they could be adjusting their environment. On a side note, I don't think flak foods are healthy
LoveSGSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:45 AM   #4 
PeiMai

Just noticed that my betta isnt eating this morning I got him yesterday from the petshop. He seesm to hang out near the thermometer that I have in the tank in the corner. Thanks to this thread I now know that he's probably a bit cold but is this normal?
P.S. Temp in tank is 74F

Last edited by PeiMai; 08-07-2010 at 08:48 AM.
PeiMai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:52 AM   #5 
LoveSGSE

Its slightly too cold. Best to be at 78-82F
LoveSGSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:57 AM   #6 
PeiMai

would temperature cause erratic swimming, very jerky movements?