Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-09-2010, 01:16 PM   #1 
Oakly

What fish for a 10 gallon?

Okay you may have heard that I was going to get a baby bio-orb, all of that has changed, I know have my very own 10 gallon tank, well, I think it's ten gallon, I haven't measure it is DEFFIANTLY 10 or MORE! So yeah, It was a good find but what fish should I have I'm thinking:

1.) Betta (Yeah, obviously)
2.) 2 Loachs
3.) 2 Ghost Shrimp
4.) 6 Zebra Fish
5.) 1 Pleco

I'm new to fish keeping, I don't have any of these fish yet, doing re-search first. But yeah, what do you think? If you can think of any fancy fish colourful or useful please say!
Oakly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 02:08 PM   #2 
Oakly

Wait, no minus the Pleco, they grow to large =/
Old 08-09-2010, 07:41 PM   #3 
Alex09

- Cories (aka corydoras catfish): Many varieties. They are small, freindly, and hardy little catfish. They should be kept in groups of 3 or more/
- Platies
Alex09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 08:35 PM   #4 
Adastra

Most loaches need to be kept in groups of 6 or more because they're a schooling species. Zebra danios are extremely active fish--their constant movement can be a little much for a betta. Also, zebra danios prefer colder water than bettas do. I don't really agree with keeping platies with bettas either, since they are so brightly colored they can illicit aggression from a betta. Platies are also aggressive and can bully bettas--they also prefer harder water with higher salinity, bettas need soft water with no salinity.

I suggest playing around a bit with this site: http://aqadvisor.com/
Adastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 09:19 PM   #5 
Fermin