Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2010, 03:46 PM   #1 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
Questions about redoing my 2 gallon hex.

My 2 gallon hexagon is cycled and has been set up for a while. But I want to change the gravel. I also want to take the bamboo plant out, it has taken over, and put silk plants in. Oh, and I want to put the light back on it. How would I go about that? If I put the filter in some conditioned water and leave it running will it still have the bacteria? Tips?
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 05:12 PM   #2 
SaylorKennedy
Member
 
SaylorKennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
You're going to have to restart the cycle, but it should be much faster if you keep some of the old gravel tied in some panty hose and have the same filter. It shouldn't take that long.
What I would do:
Take out all water and keep it in a bucket putting the filter on that.
Take out your old gravel and tie it in panty hose then place it in the bucket with the water. Put in your new gravel and silk plants, then place the filled panty hose on the new gravel. Finally, I'd fill about half-3/4ths with old tank water and the rest with new treated water. Put the filter on and you should be good.
SaylorKennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:52 PM   #3 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
Okay, thank you.
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 06:58 PM   #4 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
I forgot to add something. Is it okay to keep him in a temporary gallon tank until I have completed redoing this tank?
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 09:59 PM   #5 
vilmarisv
Member
 
vilmarisv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
That's a very good system. It's very similar to how I cycled my 3rd tank.
I also kept the old gravel in a pantyhose but I sorta rinsed it in the new water a few times a day so you pretty much dirty your water with the old gravel.
That way you stimulate the spread of the bacteria into your new surfaces, instead of waiting for it to transfer itself into your substrate.
My cycle took 3 days and I was using a new filter!
Yes, keep him out of the new tank until you have it cycled.
vilmarisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 12:05 PM   #6 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
Okay, thank you. I knew that. So it only took three days, wow. Can I use the bacteria in the gravel in another tank as well like that? I have another tank I have been meaning to cycle.
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:31 PM   #7 
vilmarisv
Member
 
vilmarisv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
You mean to start a cycle in a new tank? Sure! That's what I did.
But I wouldn't use the same gravel since you're transfering the bacteria from the old to the new gravel. It will work, it just will take longer. Maybe divide the gravel in two and place half in each tank?
vilmarisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:40 PM   #8 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
Yep. Just put half of it in some pantyhose and the other half in some pantyhose, and just set them in the two tanks? And that's it?
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.