Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2010, 01:08 PM   #1 
Capricorn
Member
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW Connecticut
Nitrite spike... again.

I really just don't get this anymore. So two days ago I lost all of my ghost shrimp due to an error on my part. The nitrites in my tank spiked way, way up. A Partial water change didn't cut them back down, so I removed my female betta, did a 100% change, and put her back in the next day. Last night the levels were fine, and today I get home (just now), check the water, and they've jumped back up again! Nothing's changed in that tank, and overnight the nitrites have come back up again.

Any theories? About to do a partial change again to see if that helps.. I've used so much water in the past week changing tanks that my parents are going to flay me alive, haha.

I'll fill out the info sheet if you guys want it, by the way.
Capricorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 04:54 PM   #2 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Sounds like a min-cycle going on....this is a filtered tank...right?
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 04:57 PM   #3 
Capricorn
Member
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW Connecticut
Yeah, it's filtered. Should I let it run its course, then? Is it safe to leave the fish in or no? Every time I check the water the nitrites are up to 1-2.5ish, so at the moment she's in a critter keeper next to me instead. What usually triggers these. OFL?
Capricorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 05:05 PM   #4 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
When your shrimp died and you did the big clean you most likely up-set the cycle/balance of the tank, it may take a couple of days to 1-2 weeks to settle all depending on how long it was cycled to start
If you didn't do anything with the filter media like clean in tap water, change it out and/or over cleaning of the substrate it may fix itself in a day or so, I would keep up with water only changes to keep the nitrite in the less than 0.5ppm range if you keep the Betta in the tank, if not you need to feed the tank daily or the bacteria will starve and monitor daily
What are your nitrate reading and any ammonia reading-also pH and water temp
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 05:23 PM   #5 
Capricorn
Member
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW Connecticut
I don't have the ammonia reading since I didn't make it to the LPS today, but right now I'm looking at ~1.5ppm for nitrite, my ph is near 8.4 (ouch) and the water temp is ~82 degrees.

The filter was rinsed gently in water from the tank, but not scrubbed or replaced.. hopefully that'll be okay?

I think I'll keep the betta out for at least a day or two until I can get a hold on the nitrites in there at least a little better.
Capricorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 05:26 PM   #6 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
No nitrate reading? that is a really important one to have and the one that will tell you if you are cycled or not

Your pH and temp are fine-I just wanted to make sure the pH was not too low for it to properly cycle.
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 05:28 PM   #7 
Capricorn
Member
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW Connecticut
Er, yeah, I do have a nitrate reading, forgot to add that in.. it's at about 10, the color is someplace between 0 and 20 on my chart here.
Capricorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 08:47 PM   #8 
Ajones108
Member
 
Ajones108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
What kind of testing kit are you using?
Ajones108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 08:52 PM   #9 
Capricorn
Member
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW Connecticut
It's one of those dumb dip-stick ones, I have to stop by the LPS on Monday to get a good liquid one.. I did check it on my own tap water and my ten gallon, though, and they both came back with no nitrites present.
Capricorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 08:56 PM   #10 
Ajones108
Member
 
Ajones108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
I don't really know then... I'm trying to figure out why MY nitrites spiked but I'm using a liquid kit.
Ajones108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.