Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2010, 03:31 PM   #1 
emeltee
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Can you cycle a 2.5 gal tank?

I currently have a 2.5 gallon tank for my daughter's betta. Is it possible for me to cycle it?

If so, what would be involved?

If I get it to cycle, how often would I need to do water changes (and at what percentage.)

On the other hand, if I get a 5 gallon tank and do a fishless cycle on it while Prince is in his 2.5 gallon tank, how often would I have to change the 5 gallon tank once it is cycled?

Prince is doing well - making bubble nests, but sadly, I think I have killed Princess after doing a complete water change last night for her! Argh! I seem to have a knack for killing fish after water changes, as she is the 2nd one to have died after a complete water change.
emeltee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 03:42 PM   #2 
Neelie
Member
 
Neelie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: west ireland
ok, first off, a 2.5g is way too small to cycle. you'll be lucky to cycle a 5g. 10g is ideal for cycling imo. and you could always add some lil shrimp to make it all more lively. id opt for that. water changes in a cycled tank are less than uncycled of course but your still looking at 20% - 30% per week.

im sure some one else can help you more caus i am no expert when it comes to cycling.

as for your water changes and dying fish: do you use water conditioner everytime before you put your fish in? is the temp always around the 77degrees?

Last edited by Neelie; 08-14-2010 at 03:54 PM.
Neelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 03:45 PM   #3 
emeltee
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Yep, water conditioner was used.

Funny thing is that I finally got a heater yesterday (waiting for my adjustable one to come via mail) and plopped it in Princess' tank. After I did the water change. I acclimated her to her new tank over the course of an hour.

Argh, I feel so horrible because I keep killing my daughter's fish.
emeltee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 03:45 PM   #4 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Yes it is possible to cycle a 2.5 gallon, I did it successfully and carried our 50% water changes twice weekly I kept RCS in the tank and none of these died, thankfully

Basically what you will need to do is set the tank up and let it run I cycled my tank by feeding the tank a few flakes of food every 12 hours, or you could use a piece of raw fish or shrimp. Usually a tank will take about a month to fully cycle but for a quicker way you could add substrate, decorations and filter media from an already estabilished tank, it took me a week to cycle my 6.5 gallon tank this way. If you have the API freshwater master kit to test your water, when the parameters read

Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 5-10

Then your tank is cycled and its safe to put in fish but usually a water change is recommended before adding the fish to rid of any high nitrates This is just a basic guideline from my own experience the 5 gallon would probably be better as it is slightly bigger and bigger is always better

Another thing, do you use water conditioner with every water change?

Last edited by Welsh; 08-14-2010 at 03:48 PM.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 03:50 PM   #5 
emeltee
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welsh View Post
Yes it is possible to cycle a 2.5 gallon, I did it successfully and carried our 50% water changes twice weekly I kept RCS in the tank and none of these died, thankfully

Basically what you will need to do is set the tank up and let it run I cycled my tank by feeding the tank a few flakes of food every 12 hours, or you could use a piece of raw fish or shrimp. Usually a tank will take about a month to fully cycle but for a quicker way you could add substrate, decorations and filter media from an already estabilished tank, it took me a week to cycle my 6.5 gallon tank this way. If you have the API freshwater master kit to test your water, when the parameters read

Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 5-10

Then your tank is cycled and its safe to put in fish but usually a water change is recommended before adding the fish to rid of any high nitrates This is just a basic guideline from my own experience the 5 gallon would probably be better as it is slightly bigger and bigger is always better
What's RCS? And you did a fishless cycle, right? Maybe I should keep Prince in his 2.5 gallon home and buy a 5 gallon and attempt to cycle it. I just want to avoid these 100% water changes since the fish seem to die after them!

So if a tank a cycled, it shouldn't need 100% water changes, right?
emeltee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 03:57 PM   #6 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
RCS are Red cherry shrimp. No definately no 100% water changes when its cycled otherwise you will need to start again lol.

I did do a fishless cycle but I also took sand and decorations along with a filter from my estabilished tank which was practically an instant cycle.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 04:13 PM   #7 
wallywestisthebest333
Member
 
wallywestisthebest333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Currently East Coast
I agree with welsh. =] I also agree that you should keep him in his 2.5 gallon as as temporary home until you cycle a 5 gallon if you can. =] I'm sure he'd love the extra room! =]

Also if you'd like to look at another way of fishless cycling here's a great page on the ammonia method enhanced by biological bacterial from a bottle! =] Fishless cycling takes MUCH less time this way! =]

http://www.drtimsaquatics.com/fishless/fishless.html

That's how I'm going to be cycling when I set my 5 gal up at college and probably how I'll cycle my 2.25 gallon if I decide to use it as a permanent residence for a different fish. =]

If you really want to cycle the 2.5 gallon though you can! =] You'd just have to do a fish-in cycle. There's great info about fish-in cycling in this thread: http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=47838

No matter which tank you chose to cycle though, you'll need a filter; even if it's just a sponge filter. If your tank has the bennefit of being rectangular may I recommend the Azoo Palm filter or the Pennplax Small World filter? Both are reccomended and both have biological filtering capabilities which is really necessary IMO.

Hope I helped some! =]
wallywestisthebest333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 04:39 PM   #8 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
I have a minibow 2.5 that has been set up and cycled since around last winter and I've never once had a problem with it. I do two weekly water changes (one 50% and the other 25%). Once I get plants in it I'm going to only do 1 50% change a week.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:04 PM   #9 
vilmarisv
Member
 
vilmarisv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
I have 3 cycled 2.5 MiniBow tanks and my parameters are very constant. According to my readings I don't need to make once a week water changes but I do a 50% anyway.
I used a handfull of substrate from my brother-in-law's already established tank so it took me abiout 3 weeks to complete the cycle.
vilmarisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:07 PM   #10 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by vilmarisv View Post
I have 3 cycled 2.5 MiniBow tanks and my parameters are very constant. According to my readings I don't need to make once a week water changes but I do a 50% anyway.
I used a handfull of substrate from my brother-in-law's already established tank so it took me abiout 3 weeks to complete the cycle.
I want your betta

The amount of sand I took from my tank actually filled the new tank 2 inches, my 12 gallon was like a beach lol
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you Cycle a tank? New2Betas Betta Fish Care 2 11-15-2009 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.