Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-22-2010, 03:05 PM   #1 
Williamg

Lighting Questions

So I'll admit I am completely new to keeping aquariums in general and Bettas specifically. So here is my question, I have a 1.5 or 2 gallon ( I can't remember which) tank that my Betta is currently living in. I would like to add some plants to give him some places to hid and I like plants. I bought some Aponogeton bulbs you can find at pet stores, as well as a small desk lamp and a 100 watt equivalent Compact Florescent bulb to put in the lamp. I plan of putting the lamp over the tank to replace the purposeless tiny LED that can't light up anything. Is that going to be enough light? I grow carnivorous plants so I have a fair amount of experience with terrestrial plants and growing them, but none with aquatic species. Any help would be appreciated,
Williamg
P.S. I think I put this in the right section, but if I didn't I'm sorry.

Last edited by Williamg; 08-22-2010 at 03:16 PM.
Williamg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 03:16 PM   #2 
Bloodeath

a lilly bulb? My mom has the exact same setup as you (or so it sounds) and she has 2 lilly bulbs in a 1.5-2.0gallon with a led piece of crap mini light on top of it. and they grow, but their discolored.

at worst the plants will get a little discolored, and actually grow quicker, because they stretch towards the light cause theres not enough of it (The plants try to get closer to it i guess you could say)
Bloodeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 04:00 PM   #3 
Williamg