Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-22-2010, 07:52 PM   #1 
Ivanrad

Question Noob Here <---

So basically i am a n00b at this new hobby ive started to develop.. basically i went to my local pet store not petco... and bought a beta fish.
After buying the bowl, then conditioner, then food. I really started to enjoy my betta fish and now its my hobby. My sister got jealous and started to cry so i decided to surprise her.. i bought her a fat 2gallon tank and a beautiful rainbow betta (not really rainbow.. but close)
She was so happy...
Now my Betta is in a 1Gal tank with rainbow rocks at the bottom and a fake plant in the middle... so far ive been feeding it hikari food 3 pellets a day and i just love these fish. Ive changed its water once which i took the fish out with a plastic cup that i carefully washed (not with soap) and i changed the fishes water completely.. made sure the conditioner sat and my fish is as happy as can be making bubbles etc..

My real question now is i really want to invest a lot of money to make this fish last cause its absolutely the most colorful and cool pet ive ever had..

What is the best amount of gallons to maximize the Betta fishes life span? ( not 60 gallons but im thinking more 10 gallons)

Filter? ( if so what brand and type?)

Rocks? ( normal ? or more softer?)

Food? ( is there a better food than hikari? )

Heater? ( Ive read that betta fish are tropical and require a heater? , What temp and what brand )

Accessories? ( i hear that a giant rock or castle can make the betta fishes environment more fun ?)

What else should i know i want to baby the crap out of this fish and my sister wants to make a beautiful scenery along with maximizing the fishes environment.

I dont want to spend thousands but im willing to spend about 200$ on everything.