Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-24-2010, 04:46 PM   #1 
pisces74

Question axelrod rasboras with betta, ok?

Hi! I am just starting out in fish keeping an am learning so much by reading books from the library and forums.

I was given a betta in a glass cube. I immediately upgraded him to a 1 gallon tank. I do 100% daily water changes and he seems quite happy. He came to me very sad and faded looking. He had little pin holes on his fins that have all healed up, his color is vibrant and he seem just active and happy.

I just got him a 20 gallon Long tank so that he can have more room to swim and I can keep the water conditions stable without so many water changes. I am currently on day 4 of a fishless cycle. I was just wondering if I can keep 8 axelrod rasboras with him. I really wanted to keep neon tetras but am so afraid of fin nipping. Any suggestions?

I want La La (Betta) to have plenty of room, but would also like to bring life to the tank with some schooling fish.

I have a 20 gallon Long tank
heater
power filter meant for 10 - 30 gallons
oh and a master fresh water test kit.
pisces74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 01:17 PM   #2 
BlueHaven

I don't think you can, but someone else may be able to help you more. Since you have a huge tank, you can try putting snails or ghost shrimp in with him. Those are the ones I know should be okay with him in that size. Though snails produce a lot of waste. As long as it's kept clean, it would be fine!I know there are some schooling fish that people keep in large tanks with a betta, but I don't know enough on that to give you a fact answer.
BlueHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 04:07 AM   #3 
karlhague

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueHaven View Post