Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-30-2010, 03:43 PM   #1 
ohstephyy

I am a complete noob.

Hi guuuysss :D I'm brand spanking new to this forum and everything to do with betta fish. I bought my Fredward almost a week ago and he's in a 1/2 gallon tank at the moment ._. (this is the exact kit: http://www.petco.com/product/10367/M...=FishFC_OnSale) which is so small.

He has no filter, no heater (only has gravel and a plant)... And i'm very worried about him. Right now, he seems fine, he swims around, hides behind his plastic plant (which I read are bad for his fins.. Oh dear), noms on his bloodworms, makes bubbles.

Anyways, here are my questions... I'm going to buy all his supplies tomorrow which include a 2.5 gallon tank.

If I buy a whisper filter (which is what i'm planning on doing), how often should I clean the tank? And what else keeps it clean? (Should I get snails to help clean it, or what other fish can help) Do live plants help as well?

And... I'm so confused in 'cycling' the tank. Do I need to do that before I put him in the tank? Uuugh, I don't get it.

Basically, what should I do before transporting him into his new 2.5 gallon tank? What other things will keep it clean? And what about amonia levels? What work comes with handling a 2.5 gallon? and should I get him other food for variety instead of feeding him bloodworms every day?

SORRY FOR THE BUTTLOAD OF QUESTIONS D': I just want Freddy to be all good.

~ Ohstephyy
ohstephyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 03:49 PM   #2 
prettylittlefishy

In a 2.5 gallon there isn't many other fish you can have.. maybe 1-2 ghost shrimp to eat uneaten food. I'd say a 2.5 uncycled tank would need a 50% change one week 100% the next.

Cycled I'd say maybe once weekly 50% changes.

Thats my guess, maybe an expert will come along.