Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-01-2010, 12:34 PM   #1 
Ferret8

Arrow HELP!! Fish emergency!

My betta had recently been acting weird, he lays on the leaves for the whole time, alomst doesn't swim at all. He does eat, but very little and slow, not like he used to "beg" for it. He lives in a 1.25gallon tank with a live plant and 3 snails. I change the water every other day since I don't turn the filter on because it's pretty powerful and i don't want to stress the fish. I just saw him swimming now, but not for very long. Can you guys help with that? Im pretty new to fish keeping and im not sure what to do, and i dont wanna lose him. thanks
Ferret8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 01:16 PM   #2 
Adastra

Could you answer a few more of these questions? http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=49233

You touched on a few already, but there's not enough details for me to come up with a diagnosis.. your water changing schedule seems fine, do you change all the water and clean the tank every other day?
Adastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 02:09 PM   #3 
Ferret8

sorry I'm new to the forum. well:

Housing
What size is your tank? 1.25GAL
What temperature is your tank?ABOUT 78DEGREES
Does your tank have a filter?NO(BUT I CAN TURN IT ON IF NECESSERY)
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?NO
Is your tank heated?NO(I'LL BUY ONE IN WINTER)
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? 3 SNAILS(I THINK MYSTERY&APPLE)

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish?TETRA-BETTAMIN TROPICAL MEDLEY
How often do you feed your betta fish? TWICE A DAY(APRX. 25-30 FLAKES)

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? EVERY OTHER DAY
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 70%-80%