Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-08-2010, 08:06 PM   #1 
Little Veiltail

Geist appears to have lost scales, not sure how

Hey guys. I'm a little nervous because just recently during Geist's nightly feeding I noticed that a spot on his back was very pink, not the usual golden brown. In fact, it looks as though his scales had been rubbed off.

His last water change was on Monday [I change 50% every other day and 100% once a week, since he lives in a 2 gallon hex], and I would change his water today but I'm wondering if the water conditioner might have irritated his skin.

My last bottle of conditioner [I think the brand was Jungle, or something] ran out, and the new bottle is a different brand [Topfin]. I used the new brand for the 50% change on Monday, so I'm wondering, could the change in conditioner have affected him?

Unfortunately I'm a college student who is busy in class most of the afternoon and evening, so I don't have the opportunity to observe his behavior throughout the day [only mornings and nights, and I admit I didn't take a good look at him when I fed him earlier]. As far as I can tell at the moment, though, he is acting normal, swimming around the tank. Though... he's also resting a lot on the gravel [but he may be tired because it's the evening].

You guys probably need to know the specs of the tank, so I'll do that now.

- 2 gallon hex
- no filter [but I change the water 50% every other day, and 100% once a week]
- heater [constant 76 degrees F]
- airstone [the airflow is restricted, though, so the water doesn't move much.
-fake plants, but they're relatively soft
-aquarium gravel
-feeding: 2-3 pellets every morning and evening