Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2010, 08:04 PM   #1 
ForbiddenSecrets
Member
 
ForbiddenSecrets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: IE California
Question Are these water levels normal?

I think they are [just did the first test on my tanks] but I thought I'd ask anyways These are ranging from the oldest tank to the newest.

Commie
Ammonia: 0.50 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 10 ppm
pH: 8.2

Xochipilli
Ammonia: 0.50 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 5 ppm
pH: 8.2

Blackout
Ammonia: 0.25 ppm
Nitrite: 0.25 pmm
Nitrate: 10 ppm
pH: 8.2

Also 8.2 pH is a bit high - will they be okay?
ForbiddenSecrets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:32 PM   #2 
Ajones108
Member
 
Ajones108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
8.2 is fine, my bettas adapted to it nicely. What are the sizes of your tanks? Filtered? Heated?

You might want to do a partial water change in Blackout's tank to get the nitrites back down. Since it's new it might still be cycling. The ammonia levels in the other two tanks aren't at 0 so you might want to consider doing partials in those also to get the ammonia and nitrates down. I need more details though.
Ajones108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:42 PM   #3 
cballas
New Member
 
cballas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Are you using tap water? That's Ok, it's just usually higher in PH. Mine's the same as yours.
If you opt to lower it ever, peat moss pellets in the filter, or driftwood, will help.

The ammonia isn't too bad, but yes, until it's cycled, more water changes will help.

My tap water has .50 ammonia in it naturally...When I start a new tank, I use bottled and/or reverse osmosis water which has none. (If you use RO, you will have to add minerals back to it though, I use Seachem Replenish).

Then as the good bacteria grows, it can handle tap water ammonia & you can use it instead.
cballas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:43 PM   #4 
ForbiddenSecrets
Member
 
ForbiddenSecrets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: IE California
3 gallon filtered and heated tanks. Today is my water change day but I tested the levels before I did them to judge how quickly the ammonia went up [at least in general].

Yeah I use Tap water for my tanks which I'm going to test for ammonia in a moment to see if it has any in it naturally ^^;;
ForbiddenSecrets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:50 PM   #5 
Ajones108
Member
 
Ajones108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
Your water conditioner should take care of the minimal ammonia in your water if you have any.
Ajones108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:55 PM   #6 
ForbiddenSecrets
Member
 
ForbiddenSecrets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: IE California
*shrugs* would be good to know if I do though
ForbiddenSecrets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:00 PM   #7 
cballas
New Member
 
cballas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Also, if you are using test tubes for this and not strips...Make sure you rinse them out REALLY good w/ tank water before testing, wash the top too. Chemical residue can effect the results.
cballas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:01 PM   #8 
Ajones108
Member
 
Ajones108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
And test strips are inaccurate.
Ajones108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:03 PM   #9 
ForbiddenSecrets
Member
 
ForbiddenSecrets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: IE California
API Master Test Kit
ForbiddenSecrets is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.