Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2010, 09:07 AM   #1 
BlueHaven
Member
 
BlueHaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: John 14:2-4
Is there a way I can fix the switch for the aquarium lid light

I recently had to fix the light on one of the aquariums I have because the metal thing that you screw the lightbulb into fell off. I finally found aquarium sealant at the petstore and fixed it. But when I tried to turn it on, the switch wouldn't turn the llight bulb on. It is the Aqueon mini bow 2.5 aquarium.
Does anyone know if it's possible to fix that, and how?

Thanks for reading!
BlueHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 11:04 AM   #2 
BlueHaven
Member
 
BlueHaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: John 14:2-4
I figured out that I just need to change the starter, but I unscrewed the inside and opened it up to find there was no starter....or there wasn't one that i've seen before. It's weird, I have no idea how to fix it now so I think i'm just going to get a new aquarium. A bigger one too.
BlueHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 09:34 AM   #3 
BlueHaven
Member
 
BlueHaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: John 14:2-4
Okeeey! X3
I got a new 5 gallon tank that I believe is good quality (it bettar bee! D<.....well, I just hope it is, lol)
It is a tetra Aqua culture 5 gallon with a hood and filter and extra things like water conditioner.
Anyway, I want to cycle it first before introducing it to Thai, but I had a few questions!
How can I cycle it quickly? I've heard of those things you can put in tanks to make them cycle faster, but I am questioning using one and I have no idea which is the best one (brand, name, type, blah) to use. If anyone knows, please let me know!

Will it work if I put a bunch of left over food in the tank and add water from Thai's tank to the new one to make it cycle fast? How long would it take to do it this way?

Thank you!
BlueHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 04:37 PM   #4 
Tomsk
Member
 
Tomsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gloucester,uk
Water from the old tank wont help add benefical bacteria to your new tank,the bacteria live on surfaces.If you are planning to use the substrate & decorations from your old to use in your new tank these will have the bacteria on them.
Its possible to do a " instant" cycle of your tank,if you put your fish in a temporary vessel (cup etc),then drain the old tank,put the substrate & decorations in the new tank then add new water.The new tank will have a decent bacteria build up in it ready for the fish.To add more you can always put media from the old tank filter into the new tank/filter or (if possible and it wont cause too much current) you can run both filters in the new tank to allow the new filter to gain bacteria (though that may be over-kill on the "playing it safe" scale ).

Tomsk
Tomsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 04:54 PM   #5 
BlueHaven
Member
 
BlueHaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: John 14:2-4
Cool, thank you very much!
:)

I am going to add the gravel and plants from his previous tank to the new one. I'll let the filter cartridge float in there too. xD
BlueHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 05:42 PM   #6 
Tomsk
Member
 
Tomsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gloucester,uk
no problem,
It would be worth doing a PWC after a couple of days just to be sure though and another one in 3 days etc ,if unsure use a liquid tester kit ( Im no expert )

Tomsk
Tomsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 07:17 AM   #7 
BlueHaven
Member
 
BlueHaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: John 14:2-4
Okay. :)
I was planning to wait till this weekend anyway to swtich tanks cause I already started running it on it's own. I'll wait till the cloudyness goes away.
BlueHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.