Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2010, 03:57 PM   #11 
Adastra
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Seachem Flourish Comprehensive is a pretty basic fertilizer--I use it along with Excel and the rest of the Seachem line. If you have a CO2 system Excel is unnecessary, but the rest would be helpful. Root tabs are for root feeding plants like cryptocorynes and swords. Many other plants feed mostly from the water column.
Adastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 04:01 PM   #12 
Ajones108
Member
 
Ajones108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa, FL
What kind of plants ARE Anubias? I like how clean their "roots" are. I have an Anubias Nana in my 5 gallon that's cycling, I get to share that with everyone at the end of this week, :)
Ajones108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 05:57 PM   #13 
Adastra
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
What do you mean? I would call it a rhizome plant, if anything.
Adastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:40 PM   #14 
Lion Mom
Member
 
Lion Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: N.E. Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoxly View Post
Should I use Flourish with a Co2 system? I also have a amazon sword.
I don't know a ton about plants, so I can't really answer your question. Hopefully, OFL will come along and see this - she knows a TON about planted tanks!

I just happen to know that anubias isn't a rooted plant, but I also know a sword is, so you could probably use root tabs with that.
Lion Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:43 PM   #15 
Lion Mom
Member
 
Lion Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: N.E. Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Yes, the anubias DOES have roots, but also has a rhizome. It is my understanding that you CAN plant the roots in substrate if you wish, but planting the rhizome will kill it. I never do - I just attach it to driftwood, rock, or whatever.
Lion Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:51 PM   #16 
Phoxly
Member
 
Phoxly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Oo I have two two cryptocoryne parva's (GREAT FOREGROUND PLANTS) I'll probably put a tab between em.
Phoxly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you have to cycle. frogipoi Betta Fish Care 6 07-24-2010 07:26 PM
First Cycle tumtum Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 18 07-12-2010 07:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.