Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2010, 06:26 PM   #1 
Rawriie
New Member
 
Rawriie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Over the rainbow :3
Question Sand Vs Gravel

Wow, Ive been wondering recently...which one is better for a betta fish? Sand or Gravel? I heard you needed uhh some gravel siphon or whatever, if u had gravel Dx But I mean, for a Betta fish, which one would be better? Can someone help me Dx
Rawriie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:04 PM   #2 
dyhoward
New Member
 
dyhoward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
My opinion is far from professional, but I've always used gravel in my tanks. This is my first betta though, so I don't know if they are different at all. Personally, I find that sand can be a pain, since it can get pulled up when syphilizing out water while cleaning the tank. Scraping wet sand out of a bucket and placing it back in an aquarium just doesn't sound fun to me. Its just much more messy than gravel.
dyhoward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:34 PM   #3 
TigerLily
Member
 
TigerLily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Carolina
I've used both sand and gravel, and I'm not sure that either makes a huge difference to the betta. For what it's worth, I personally prefer sand. It looks better (in my opinion) and it's not difficult to keep clean. If you use a siphon, just be sure you hold the siphon above the sand and it'll pick everything up, there's no need to dig around like you might with gravel.
TigerLily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 09:28 PM   #4 
Alex09
Member
 
Alex09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gravel. Less messy, besides I would want to risk getting that in my filter...
Alex09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 11:10 AM   #5 
dragonfair
Member
 
dragonfair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dallas
I've tried the sand. It was beautiful but, for me, very messy. I couldn't deal with as well as the gravel, so I gave it up.
dragonfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 09:06 PM   #6 
Rawriie
New Member
 
Rawriie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Over the rainbow :3
Does it get all muddy? And does the water get dirty, like all gross D && Is it easier to get the live-plants to root at the bottom of the tank? `Cause I have had a really bad experience with a Live-Plant the other time D: It wouldnt stay at the bottom, rooted in the gravel like normal live plants would, instead it would jus float up at the top of the water Dx I fail bigtime ;.;
Rawriie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gravel, habitat, sand

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use sand instead of gravel? marshall2288 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 22 09-14-2009 06:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.