Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-30-2010, 03:25 PM   #1 
armywife4

questions

Hello.

I am very new to this, I just got my first betta. He is blue and named Frankie. We have him in a ten gallon tank with lights, background paper, blue aquarium gravel scattered with green decorative gemstones, a fake plant, a castle ornament with places to hide, and a little turtle decoration.

His water temperature is 73 degrees. I think that is a bit cold? I am buying a heater today, it should be closer to 75-80 right??

I do not have a filter. Do I need one? I do a 50% water change every second day and use tap water with water conditioning stuff, and do a full water change once a week. is this good? I am feeding him Betta flakes that I got at the pet store. I have a turtle too [in a seperate tank, of course] and feed him frozen brineshrimp and bloodworms, but they come in 'individual portion' cubes, which is enough for a turtle but almost half the size of the fish! I could chop them down and give most to my turtle and some to the fish...do you think he would eat these? can I just dop it in, frozen, like I do for the turtle, or should I let it thaw first?

Is 10 gallons too much for one betta? I know people say they live in shallow waters, and I've heard they can drown...the plant reaches to about 2 inches from the water surface and sometimes he rests in it...but I am still worried.

Also, we bought a pleco and he was healthy and active at the store when we got him, then at home he didnt move and then died the next day. is something wrong with my tank that would make the pleco die? I want to house a pleco with the betta but need to make sure it will not die. I had filled the tank with water earlier that day, and realize now that I should have maybe waited for the water to cycle through first...could that be it?