Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-30-2010, 04:57 PM   #1 
nomoretickets

proposed 10 gal tank

I just purchased a male betta fish. Hes currently in a 1 gallon bowl (i know terrible, but it was an impulse buy and I didn't do my research before hand) but i am going to get a 10 gallon tank set up for him, and would like to add some other fish to it so he doesn't get bored in there all alone. I have read that cherry barbs are good tank mates for bettas, so I was thinking about getting 6 cherry barbs. Would this work? I am new to bettas and their compatability issues so please dont hesitate to make any and all suggestions. thanks
nomoretickets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 06:56 PM   #2 
carpenter547
Banned

fish are not children and don't get bored per se by a lack of company at least not your betta schooling fish are different but bettas especially the males are not a schooling fish in fact they are the opposite. they will basically pick a fight with any thing that looks like them so long finned fish are always a riskier choice and other labryth fish such as gouramis are also risky.

bettas are predatory they eat larva and worms bugs etc so shrimp fit into thier dietary mode if they are the right size to be eaten. with that said most shrimp/ betta combinations tend to work our ok depending on the temperment of the betta.

now to contradict the bored statment. if you give them plants and caves and you to interact with they will get all the stimulation they need. so yes in a plain undecorated unchanging tank they will not be happy and could become bored as you and i know it *doctors waiting room bored yuck*

how ever if you buy some caves and a fake plant with some real ones and a slowish flow filter will provide some current for your betta to play in if he chooses :)